Adventures in homemaking

31 Mar

All of life is a rhythm of coming and going from home, to the world, and back. We make our homes and we seek adventure. Out in the world, we long to return home; sitting at home, we dream about wandering the world. Some make wandering the style of their lives, while others stay at home and imagine the world. Both ways are of infinite value, and both make life worth living.

World-wandering and adventure seem to please the spirit most, while homemaking satisfies the soul. The latter, like most things of the soul, is more humble and therefore might be neglected. But home provides the ground, the tether, the foundation, and that elusive quality necessary for psychological peace-security.

We could be better at making our homes. We could give them more attention. We could understand that a society in which people are homeless, any definition of the word, is one that has dangerously overlooked the one condition that leads to creative tranquility.

—  The Education of the Heart by Thomas Moore

I read this quote here. And was completely inspired by it. Inspired by every word in it. I am a “wanderer”. I long for the next adventure and I have a hard time staying put in one place for too long! For this reason, homemaking seemed so unappealing to me. However, a couple years ago something changed. I had my first summer off from teaching. And as much as I looked forward to it, when the time came it was so hard! What would I do at home?! Not too long after I learned that I could also use homemaking as a creative outlet and as a spiritual discipline even! During this time at the home I learned to live a slower life, learned to cook, sew, bake, and the list goes on. Perfecting this art of homemaking is a journey I’m still on and continue to learn. It continues to teach me to appreciate those ‘mundane’ tasks and use it as a way to glorify my God. I Corinthians 10:31 says, “… whatever you do, do all to the glory of God” (ESV).

My spring break started today. And although all I wanted to do was sleep, watch TV, and veg on the couch, I opted out of it. My tasks today weren’t glamorous. Laundry, organizing, cleaning, taxes, and more and more laundry.  I put on my Shane and Shane Pandora station and my soul was satisfied as I worshiped/prayed through these tasks. Throughout today, God’s love filled my heart and his presence overwhelmed by soul. Ahh, God is so good. Soooo good.

Things have been very busy lately with work, church/ministry, other commitments, and thinking a lot about our future. Spring break came at just the right time. I wanted to fill my week with all sorts of trips/vacation (yes, I’m a travel junkie. I get a high looking through Travel Zoo deals). Instead, I’ve decided to slow down, catch up on reading, watch justice conference videos (again!), try new recipes, and do some baking (it’s been too long!).  After watching this video, I’ve become inspired to do lots of baking this coming week! Seriously, how cute is the girl from the video?! This is totally me when it comes to cooking. Give me some salsa music and a kitchen-and I’m set!

4 Responses to “Adventures in homemaking”

  1. amylu7 March 31, 2012 at 2:56 am #

    I’m glad you like this quote 🙂 Did you read the entire book? You can probably borrow it from the library. I really liked that video too! I’m also a baking enthusiast 🙂 I actually have another blog where I post baking recipes and resto reviews.. check it out if you’d like 🙂

  2. thesimplicityoflove May 8, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    Hi, just saw you started to follow my blog. Might I ask how you found me? Anyway you are very welcome and it’s nice to ”meet” another sister 🙂

    • Simply Mr.and Mrs. May 11, 2012 at 4:35 am #

      hi! i found your blog through Racham ministries (through FB browsing)! Such a beautiful ministry! My husband and I met ministering in Uganda a in 2008. Uganda will always have a special place in our hearts.

  3. thesimplicityoflove May 11, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    Ah how beautiful! Were you with an organisation or solo in Uganda? I have been living here for a year and a half now. Lovely to meet you and be introduced to your blog- adding it to my Google Reader now 🙂

Leave a Reply

